5 posts
  • 1 / 1
 by Elvis
6 years 8 months ago
 Total posts:   38377  
United States of America   Los Angeles
Administrator

Rich Hammond, @Rich_Hammond , was nice enough to answer some questions for RFU. I really wanted to know what it's like to cover the Rams more than ask about the latest with Aaron Donald's contract or that sort of thing since no doubt that's what he's working on. Anyway, here it is:

Hi Rich, thanks for doing this. Following the Rams wouldn’t be the same without your humor and love of Japanese poetry, not to mention your reporting.

So, a few questions:

1. Tell us about your background, what were you covering before you got the Rams gig? Any personal Rams history from their time in Anaheim or before?

I was born and raised in Southern California, and started in daily journalism when I was a freshman at USC in 1995. Between then and 2016, I covered pretty much every team/sport in Southern California at one time or another, from the Dodgers and Lakers down to high school sports. Most recently, I spent three years working for the L.A. Kings as their website beat reporter, and then in 2012, I returned to the Register for a second stint, first with coverage USC and the Kings, and then I jumped on the Rams in Jan. 2016. I wouldn't necessarily say I have any personal Rams history. Obviously I grew up watching some of those 1980s teams, with Jim Everett and Henry Ellard and Flipper Anderson, but the first Rams game I attended in person was the preseason opener last year.

2. How strong is the Rams fan base in Orange County today? How does it compare to the Chargers and/or the Raiders?